Scholarship Selection Criteria

Awarded to an accomplished Cape Ann League senior XC/Track and Field athlete who leads by example and whose outstanding performance and sportsmanship encourages and inspires others in the athletic community.

> Open to a graduating high school senior that participates in Cape Ann League athletics.

> Currently there are 13 high schools that compete in Cape Ann League cross-country and track & field athletics:
1. Amesbury High School
2. Georgetown High School
3. Hamilton Wenham Regional High School
4. Ipswich High School
5. Lynnfield High School
6. Masconomet Regional High School
7. Manchester Essex Regional High School
8. Newburyport High School
9. North Reading High School
10. Pentucket Regional High School
11. Saugus High School
12. Triton Regional High School

> The student athlete must be an accomplished Cross-Country and/or Track & Field athlete, who has chosen to continue their Cross-Country or Track & Field career in college.

> The student athlete has dedicated themselves to the training and discipline required for performance at the highest level, over multiple seasons/years.

> They have achieved high levels of performance at the State and/or Regional level.

> They have earned the respect of both coaches and peers for the goodwill they inspire in other student athletes. Through their sportsmanship and leadership example they have instilled pride in their team and the Cape Ann League.

Selection Committee

> Collectively the Cross-Country and Track & Field coaches from each CAL school* will nominate one (1) student athlete from their school for the scholarship. All nominations are to be presented at the coach’s meeting prior to the CAL Outdoor Track & Field Championships.

> 13 coaches, one coach from each of the participating CAL schools will form the selection committee for the scholarship.

> The scholarship will be announced/awarded at the conclusion of the Cape Ann League Outdoor Track & Field Championships awards ceremony.

> The Scholarship will also be presented to the student athlete at the recipient’s school Scholarship Night at the end of the academic school year. (if applicable)